Bama Awards


Candidates: Tua Tagovailoa (Bama), Kyler Murray (Okl), Will Grier (WV)

I think all of these players are really good. One thing that people might not notice is that these players have some of the top receiving units in the country. When you look on paper Kyler Murray is the most consistent and has the most TDs and stuff like that. Will Grier has been in more last second moments than Tua and Kyler and succeeded in those moments. Tua Tagovailoa has been doing so good in the first three quarters that he has not needed to play in the 4th quarter. Two other things about Tua are that he has been injured half the season and he has been playing against the best defenses in the country, plus he has had a lot less attempts than Murray and Grier anyway and still has almost just as good stats as them.

The winner is: Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)

QB of the year (same as Heisman)

RB of the year

Candidates: Jonathan Taylor (Wis), Travis Entienne (Clem), Eno Benjamin (ASU)

The winner is: Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin)

WR of the year

Candidates: Jerry Jeudy (Bama), Rondale Moore (Pur), Anthony Johnson (Buff)

I think this one was very close and any of them could have won, but for me the winner was just too awesome to watch to not give the award.

The winner is: Rondale Moore (Purdue)

TE of the year

Candidates: Irv Smith Jr. (Bama), Jace Sternberger (TAMU), T.J. Hockenson (Iowa)

Like the WR of the year, the winner was just too awesome to lose.

The winner is: Irv Smith Jr. (Alabama)

Disappointment of the year

Candidates: Auburn, Michigan St., Stanford

Auburn: 7-5 (3-5), Projection, 5, 10-2 (6-2)

Michigan St.: 7-5 (5-4), Projection, 7, 10-2 (7-2)

Stanford: 8-4 (6-3), Projection, 9, 10-3 (7-2)

The winner is: Auburn

Surprise of the year

Candidates: Notre Dame, LSU, Syracuse

3 Notre Dame, 12-0 (and in the Playoff), Projection, 8, 11-1

11 LSU: 9-3 (5-3), Projection, unranked, 6-6 (3-5)

20 Syracuse: 9-3 (6-2), Projection, unranked, 3-9 (1-7)

The winner is: LSU

Upset of the year

Candidates: BYU over Wisconsin, Old Dominion over VT, Purdue over Ohio St.

I couldn’t really think of many upsets this year. BYU over Wisconsin: This game wasn’t a huge upset for me because I know BYU is good at getting upsets. ODU over VT: I’m not too surprised since I know that Virginia Tech can get pretty inconsistent. Purdue over Ohio St.: I actually picked Purdue to win this game! I thought Purdue would win because I thought Ohio St. didn’t have a good defense, they were one-dimensional, and Purdue has a great offense and a decent defense.

The winner is: BYU over Wisconsin

Group of Five Player of the Year

Candidates: WR: Anthony Johnson (Buff), WR: Andy Isabella (UMass), Derrell Henderson (Mem)

The winner is: Anthony Johnson (Buffalo)

SEC Offensive player of the year

Candidates: QB Tua Tagovailoa (Bama), RB Trayveon Williams (TAMU), WR: Jerry Jeudy (Bama)

  The Winner is: Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama)

ACC Offensive Player of the year

Candidates: QB Ryan Finley (NC St.), RB Travis Entienne (Clem), WR: Kelvin Harmon (NC St.)

The Winner is: Travis Entienne (Clemson)

Big 12 Offensive Player of the year

Candidates: QB: Kyler Murray (Okl), QB Will Grier (WVU), RB Alex Barnes (KSU)

The Winner is: Kyler Murray (Oklahoma)

Pac-12 Offensive Player of the year

Candidates: QB Gardner Minshew (WASU), RB Eno Benjamin (ASU), RB Jermar Jefferson (ORSU)

The Winner is: Eno Benjamin (Arizona St.)

Best Team that is not bowl eligible

Candidates: Tennessee, Texas Tech, Maryland

Tennessee 5-7 Notable Games: W Auburn 30-26, W Kentucky 24-7

Texas Tech 5-7 Notable Games: L Oklahoma 51-46, L Texas 41-34

Maryland 5-7 Notable Games: L Ohio St. 52-51 OT, W Texas 34-29

The Winner is: Tennessee

Big Ten Offensive Player of the year

Candidates: QB Dwayne Haskins (OSU), RB Jonathan Taylor (Wis), WR Rondale Moore (Pur)

The Winner is: Dwayne Haskins (Ohio St.)

Most Important Player to their team

Candidates: RB Benny Snell Jr. (Kent), QB Kyler Murray (Okl), QB Dwayne Haskins (OSU)

The Winner is: Benny Snell Jr. (Kentucky)

Under the Radar Player of the year

Candidates: WR Anthony Johnson, WR Andy Isabella, RB Jermar Jefferson

The Winner is: Anthony Johnson (Buffalo)

Disappointing Player of the year

Candidates: RB Bryce Love (Stan), DT Ed Oliver (Hou), RB Myles Gaskin (Wash)

The Winner is: Bryce Love (Stanford)

Surprising Player of the year

Candidates: Dwayne Haskins (Ohio St.), Travis Entienne (Clem), Kyler Murray (OU)

The Winner is: Kyler Murray (Oklahoma)

New Coach of the year

Candidates: Dan Mullen (UF), Herm Edwards (ASU), Josh Heupel (UCF)

Florida 2017: 4-7 (3-5), Florida 2018: 9-3 (5-3)

Arizona St. 2017: 7-5 (6-3), Arizona St. 2018: 7-5 (5-4)

UCF: 2017: 12-0 (8-0), UCF 2018: 12-0 (8-0)

The winner is: Dan Mullen (Florida)

New Coach disappointment of the year

Candidates: Scott Frost (Neb), Chip Kelly (UCLA), Willie Taggart (FSU)

Nebraska 2017: 4-8 (3-6), Nebraska 2018: 4-8 (3-6)

UCLA 2017: 6-6 (4-5), UCLA 2018: 3-9 (3-6)

Florida St. 2017: 6-6 (3-5), Florida St. 2018: 5-7 (3-5)

The Winner is: Scott Frost (Nebraska)

Awards by team

Alabama 4

Auburn 1


Kentucky 1

Florida 1

Tennessee 1

Oklahoma 2

Purdue 1

Wisconsin 2

Ohio St. 1

Nebraska 1

Stanford 1

Arizona St. 1

Clemson 1





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s